WhatsApp extends Delete for All message time limit

WhatsApp tips and tricks

EXPRESS NEWSPAPERSYou can now add interactive stickers to your

WhatsApp had recently rolled out a feature "Delete for Everyone" that allowed users to call back their sent messages but only under a restricted time limit of 512 seconds. While earlier the limit was 8 minutes and 32 seconds, when it came to revoking a message from group or private chat, WhatsApp has now extended this to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. The website explains that when the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends a new message with the same ID of the message that user wants to delete to the recipient (s).

British Chemist Sir William Henry Perkin Honoured With Doodle On Birth Anniversary
Perkin had made a lucrative discovery, and set to built factories and raise funds to made it widely available. Perkin gained fame, popularity and wealth with this discovery in the manfacturing dye.

This additional time could help facilitate more temporary conversations on WhatasApp. However, some users have already taken advantage of the "Delete for Everyone" feature via modded versions of the app to delete messages dating back to three years. Those using modded or unauthorized versions of the app have tricked this notification system to delete old messages. Report states that WhatsApp has now improved its maths so it now finds a message in the database having the same ID as that of the evoke message request, it first goes through the data of the message saved in the database. It then checks the date related information of the message saved in the database. According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp's "Block revoke request" feature will quietly add some protection to prevent misuse of the "Delete for Everyone" feature. This ensures that nobody can tamper with the feature to delete messages for everyone. The time limit is 24 hours rather than 1 hour to account for phones which are offline when the Delete for All message is sent.

Latest News