Gmail Introduces Offline Feature for Desktop Users

Gmail Introduces Offline Feature for Desktop Users

Gmail Introduces Offline Feature for Desktop Users

If you aren't using the new Gmail interface that launched in late April 2018 you have to rely on the old Chrome extension Google released for offline Gmail, and it's a bit of a hassle.

At the bottom, click Advanced. However it seems that Google is introducing some changes to Gmail that will help to remind users to reply to emails by nudging them by highlighting emails that might need a response to. Previously this feature was available for Chrome users as an add-on for the browser, but this naturally hinders performance like most add-ons. The storage section will show how much space you are using for the offline mail on the computer.

Another important detail to note here is that you need to switch to new Gmail before enabling the offline mode.

The feature is rolling out to users right now, however, is not enabled by default. The feature essentially enables users to write, delete, search and archive messages while there is no connectivity. It's a feature sure to please business professionals traveling with a laptop, or those who are frequently on the go and without reliable internet.

Watch John Travolta Dance With 50 Cent at Cannes
Travolta is known for his dance moves in movies like Grease, Saturday Night Fever and Pulp Fiction . At one point, Travolta got on stage and showed that even at 64, he is still light on his feet.

Under "Privacy and security", click Content settings. To delete account data from your device disable offline mail and save changes.

It's possible to send e-mails while in offline mode, but these messages will be stored in the Outbox folder until a network is available, at which point it will promptly get sent. Gmail is going to need some time to download all those messages. So, to make use of the newly added functionality, you need to install the chrome browser to your system.

Go to your Gmail settings and choose the "Enable experimental access" feature on.

Under "All cookies and site data", click Remove all. You can find this option by opening the Chrome Settings menu, scrolling down to Advanced, and then clicking on the Clear Browsing Data menu item.

Latest News