Mickelson breaks rules again, this time at Greenbrier

Phil Mickelson at A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier

Phil Mickelson at A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier

At the seventh tee at A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier, Mickelson stamped down on some grass in front of him, which after a moment he realized would cost him a two-stroke penalty that he assessed to himself.

Three weeks on from the Mickelson being penalised for intentionally putting a moving ball at the US Open, the five-time major champion caused further controversy during the final round in West Virginia.

While he was never really in contention at The Greenbrier, all eyes were on the lefty after his rule-breaking debacle at the U.S. Open almost a month ago when he hit his ball while it was still moving on the green out of frustration.

Phil Mickleson had a bad Geenbrier Classic and earned himself a two-shot penalty thanks to his actions of stomping down on a piece of grass to improve his line of play.

Theresa May aims to boost US-UK relations during Donald Trump visit
Next, on July 13, a demonstration has been organised by the "Stop Trump Coalition" with the initial protest movement. United States ambassador Woody Johnson insisted the balloon was not a fair representation of British views.

The part that applies to Mickelson is about improving his line of play. Mickelson said he "wasn't really thinking".

The message went as follows: "I know this should have come sooner, but it's taken me a few days to calm down". "My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend". I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions.

Mickelson had teed up his ball in the tee box on No. 7 on Sunday at The Old White TPC, and was getting ready to hit.

The two-stroke penalty led to a double-bogey 6 for Mickelson, who opened the day nine back of the leaders.

Latest News