Gmail Confidential Mode rolling out on Android; here’s how to use it

Another functionality of the confidential mode is the ability to restrict the recipient from copying, forwarding or downloading the email for further use.

Confidential Mode sends emails that self-destruct after a given length of time.

Google has delivered several neat email features over the years, and now it's adding another one with confidential mode for Gmail. Now when you send the mail to a particular recipient, they will have a specific time limit to check the mail after which it will be expired.

Google rolled out a new feature meant to heighten the security of Gmail users on Android.

For users of the Gmail web client, Google's support page notes that confidential mode isn't available in the classic version of Gmail.

Trump brushes off McRaven jabs after yanking ex-CIA chief's clearance
On Friday, he said he expected to "very quickly" revoke the security clearance for Justice Department official Bruch Ohr, who he called a "disgrace".

Users interested in trying out the new confidential mode should look for a new confidential mode icon in the bottom right corner of the compose window. SMS-based passcodes are the only option if your recipient is using a Gmail account - recipients using another email service can receive either SMS or email passcodes.

On the top right, tap on three dots and tap on Confidential Mode. I sent an email to myself with confidential mode, the attachment was a photo.

In case you want to renew the access, head over to sent emails, open that email, and tap on renew access, and the user will once again be able to view the content. Taking screenshots is, however, still allowed. But Gmail users today can use the new update to protect their messages instead of following in the grumpy footsteps of the cartoon cop.

The feature is enabled when you click the button for a new email.

Latest News