XFL To Reveal Teams And Venues At Today's Press Conference

Football is back! St. Louis awarded XFL franchise

Football is back! St. Louis awarded XFL franchise

"We are committed to being ingrained in the local community and extremely fortunate that our teams will have world-class facilities to call home", XFL CEO Oliver Luck said.

The football league founded by wrestling entrepreneur Vince McMahon will be absent in several of the largest television markets: Chicago, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Boston and Atlanta.

They had various officials from the cities appear and hype their involvement in the new XFL.

The Gateway to the West, St. Louis represents opportunity, promise, and a legacy of great football.

The XFL's eight teams for its opening season are Houston, Dallas, Los Angeles, New York, St. Louis, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Washington D.C.

McMahon said there is a long term financial commitment to the XFL, and that the game play will be innovative and exciting.

Mnuchin Says He's Hopeful of China Policy Change in 90-Day Truce
After being spooked by the conflict, investors returned to buying following the long-awaited meeting between the two presidents. The confusion was exacerbated by the absence of a joint statement from the USA and China following the dinner.

"We believe launching in February 2020 gives us the time to get the game, the fan experience and the partnerships right, and we believe we are well on our way", Luck said.

As CBS Sports first reported in January, the controversial professional league, which originated as a joint venture between WWE and NBC, is set for a 2020 reboot, complete with eight league-owned franchises. It opened with the Governor of New Jersey, who introduced Vince McMahon. The XFL is now testing out elements of its format with junior college football teams to solidify a final on-field product.

Also, the league said tickets will have an "affordable price" but the ticket price range was not announced.

The league previously had one season in 2001.

The XFL will begin play in spring 2020.

Latest News